“I am a Filipino. I am a Survivor!” (HABAGAT experience)

HABAGAT: Aug-07-12 (Genesys 8:7-12 Bible Verse)

I’m currently working in a Central Reservation office somewhere in Makati, from 2pm -11 pm. Due to the heavy rain last Monday, I decided to stay and just render some extra hours. I told myself that i will just go home and stay until six in the morning. By that time, water is already everywhere in Metro Manila due to the non-stop rain of the “Habagat”. I learned from the news that only few buses passes-by, because there’s a lot of non passable roads already.

Image

I went to the office pantry and just watched some news for updates. There i learned that a lot of houses in Novaliches were already washed-out by the flood, and a lot of people were already evacuated. (by the way, its where me and my family lives :D)

Image

After a few minutes, I received a txt message from my mother and asking me to just stay in the office for awhile, since its not really safe for me to travel due to the flood. She also mentioned that water is already starting to fill our house. Since i know that our area is quite high, compared to the other barangay in Novaliches, im really not that nervous *whatsoever*.

By 8am, one of my officemate (college schoolmate as well), told me that she’s going home and asked me if i want now to go home too so we can leave the office together. I decided to take the risk and said yes, since that time iam really already sleepy and started to have headache.

We rode a jeep from Makati to MRT-Buendia. She got off at MRT-Quezon Ave, and i to the last station (MRT-North Edsa). As soon as I got off the train, I already saw lots of people on the street patiently waiting for busses or jeepneys that they can ride for home. After more than 30minutes of waiting, I already started feeling dizzy because of the cold and the lack of sleep. Good thing that I saw one of my former high school classmate, and we ended up chatting there under the rain. After another 20minutes or so, we were able to rode a bus and went home.

On our way home, we already saw the impact of this “Habagat” to our area. Lots of flooded roads that were not passable and saw lots of people dared to cross the chest level water just to get home.

Image

After almost 3hours on the road, I was able to arrived at home safe and in one piece. Despite of the troubles I saw on the road, I was still able to uttered a silent “Thank You prayer” because aside from a little mess at home and no electricity, everybody were all safe. I learned that my mother is actually not there and busy helping those who were relocated, despite of our own mess! 😀

In regards to this, another trending topic in the internet is… how that day was linked to one of Genesys (new testament) bible verses, the 8:7-12. I really dont know what to say, but its actually kinda accurate, and that makes it creepy.

7 and sent out a raven, and it kept flying back and forth until the water had dried up from the earth.8 Then he sent out a dove to see if the water had receded from the surface of the ground.9 But the dove could find no place to set its feet because there was water over all the surface of the earth; so it returned to Noah in the ark. He reached out his hand and took the dove and brought it back to himself in the ark.

10 He waited seven more days and again sent out the dove from the ark. 11 When the dove returned to him in the evening, there in its beak was a freshly plucked olive leaf ! Then Noah knew that the water had receded from the earth.12 He waited seven more days and sent the dove out again, but this time it did not return to him.

Im just really thankful that God protected each and everyone of us. Despite of what i’ve been through, im still grateful that we still have the house and i still have my family.

“I am a Filipino. I am a Survivor!”

(photos posted were from google)

let me see what you think... ^_6

